Cover Reveal for The Succubus, The Demon, & The Witch: An Underlayes Novel by T.A. Moorman

Cover Reveal

Title: The Succubus, The Demon, & The Witch: An Underlayes Novel

Author: T.A. Moorman

Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Release date not yet set.

the-succubus-the-demon-and-the-witch-1

Excerpt 1:

I awoke with a start, gasping for air. Considering the situation, I’m surprised I didn’t come to and start screaming my head off like a banshee. Oh, I also woke up not knowing where the hell I was, or how I got there. Some birthday this was turning out to be.

See, I went to bed just like any other normal twenty-year-old. Turning twenty-one, being able to drink, legally anyway, FINALLY saved up enough money to move out on my own.  I even went to bed early because my girls and I were supposed to be celebrating all day and all night! Including getting rid of my virginity! Growing up with a house full of orphaned witches, vampires, werewolves and other types of shifters does not make a dating life easy, believe me.

Well, one thing’s for certain, I no longer have to worry about losing my virginity. OH STUFF IT! U STUFF IT! Ur the one who got us into this mess! Well, arguing with u isn’t gonna help us remember jack! Great, now I’m having a mental battle with myself, that’ll really help me figure out what the fuck happened.

First thing I should probably do is take in my surroundings, eh? One thing is for sure, I don’t have to even think about my little virgin issues. Ha! Seeing as though I am stark-bootie butt-naked besides some damn collar on my neck, in a huge bed with three just as naked men with collars on their necks! Thankfully they’re blissfully sleeping still. Thank Goddess for small favors. Hopefully I can figure this out before they wake-up. And from the smell of things, I’d better act fast. Though they all have their faces turned away from me I can smell shifter, vampire and holy shit!!! A damn demon?!

Hookay, Jelissa, lets pull it together. The only thing I’m missing as of right now is any memory of last night, well that and my damn clothes. Time to answer the question I’ve been dreading, do I still have any powers? Screwed up as they may be, anything is better than nothing at this point.

See, I’m a witch, well actually I’m more than just that, but that’s all the orphanage seer’s could see clearly when I was brought to them as an infant. That, and the fact that I was pretty much a mutt. They ended up having me sniffed out to try and figure out what I was.  All that concluded was I have four different bloodlines within me. Talk about multiracial.  The orphanage wasn’t, and still isn’t, an uncommon place for something like that. It’s pretty much what makes up the whole place, unwanted cross-breeds, misfits, or true orphans whose parents’ have passed on. Well, okay, there’s usually only two things kids are cross-bred with, not four, and the seer’s had no problem figuring out what that was.  Guess I’m just special. So I became a great guessing game, and they’ve just bided their time waiting to see what powers, if any, I developed. So far I have the ability to call insects, which came in quite handy in school and some telekinesis (I say some cause if I get too upset I just blow up whatever it is I’m trying to move). Which would come in handy right about now. If I focus on the lock on the door, whether it unlocks or simply blows up who the Hel cares as long as it opens. So I focus, and focus some more, and the only result I get is a little dizziness, feeling myself going cross-eyed and nauseated.

“Damnit,” I mutter.

Maybe I can do a past visualization. If I can’t get out, maybe I can at the very least figure out how I got here. And pray to Goddess that nothing else happens while I’m in a trance.

As above so below, I begin chanting, show me the events I need to know. Letting go of all and any other thoughts, as above, so below, show me the events I need to know. Taking in deep breaths, letting my physical body go, as above so below, show me the events I need to know. Letting my spirit slide into the black, stillness of the astral, asabovesobelowshowmetheeventsIneedtoknow, as above, so below, as above, so below……….

“Awe shit,” I gasp, realizing I’ve overdone it, like I do so many things. Because instead of just seeing what happened last night, I’ve ended up in the back of my own mind and will not only watch the events that took place, but get to relive them, without being able to stop a damn thing.

Excerpt 2:

Luckily, that was the only part of her that had a chance to transform. Kierra’s mother wasn’t just any type of demon, but a changeling. While Kierra hadn’t yet gained the full abilities of her mother to change into anything or anyone at will, and may not ever considering the fact that she was not a full blooded demon. No, she was a creature ruled by emotion, and only transformed from male to female depending on her mood. And since extreme emotion made it almost impossible for her to flick that switch to turn off her emotions, its’ a good thing that Anya quickly came to and pulled her down for a deep kiss, nicking her own lip with her fangs in the process to help tame the beast within before Kierra’s male essence took over. While their family might be in on all of their secrets at this point, the few children that had yet to evacuated from the orphanage were now standing in the doorway screaming at the sight of one demon already. That screaming made worst by the fact that one of them was part banshee. Her scream so loud and shrill that from the sounds of bones cranking and breaking must have triggered the change of two other orphans; one part wolf, another a preteen demon.

Just as chaos was beginning to reign, a beautiful waif of a girl flashed into the room not a moment too soon. Her long blond locks floating upon the waves of magick, her blue eye sparkling like two celestial stars captured within the retinas on a crème Brule colored heart shaped face as she used her siren voice to sing a soothing lullaby that tamed all of the savage beasts’ that were about to explode. Everyone just stopped dead in their tracks, all shifting, reversing until everyone, including Demon Bran, went back to their everyday, more normal facades.

Next, an awkward looking twenty-year-old with a massive black afro tinged with red, skin so light it could almost pass for white and slight freckles along her cheekbones, wearing an oversized sweatshirt hanging off of one shoulder and pair of cut-off jeans came barreling through the door. Shouting at the siren that had just quite possibly saved the orphanage from completely tumbling down in high-pitched voice, “Genie! I told you to wait for me! You know I can’t half ass flash!” Noticing all eyes on her she tried to settle, giving a shaky little, “Hi.”, to everyone else in the room.

Elyssa, who had regained consciousness from where she lay on a plush chair in the corner (good thing it was a massive living quarters), went to gather and usher away the remaining orphans, and figure out how they got left behind in the first place. Upon realizing they were indeed the most powerful ones that lived in the confines the possible cause had her somewhat relieved but worried at the same time.

All but Genie and Deelah whom she didn’t have the heart to even attempt to force out of the vicinity. Rather just gave them a loving warning on her way out, “Speak nothing of what goes on here outside of these walls. But tell them everything you know, anything that you think might help.” When the two of them just looked at her in utter confusion, she sighed and quickly flashed on her “seer” robes for an instant. As they gasped upon recognition of who she truly was, whom they grew up thinking her to be, she flashed back into her Royal Guard attire. “Yea, babes. I’m Princess Elyssa, not a damn seer. And yup, over there is your Queen, and her twin sister, my other big sister.” As their eyes grew wider and wider like a pair of saucers, she laughed a little. “Betcha didn’t see any of that coming, huh? That’s not the half of it. And while there’s a lot of explaining to do the main thing you need to focus on is this: While you two love Jelissa very much, as much as you would have had she been your kin, she IS our kin. Yea, your Queen is her mother, so we don’t have time for any formalities. Fuck bowing, get over there and help us find my niece.”

Genie and Deelah took another double take at the woman they had grown up thinking must have looked like a shriveled up old hag since the robes never came off. They couldn’t quite come to terms with what shocked them the most; the fact that she was drop dead gorgeous, that she was actually the princess, or that their best-friend was truly the daughter of the damn queen. They visibly shook themselves when she shoved at them and shouted for them to, “Go!”, right before hustling off with the younger ones.

“What the fuck, D?”, was all Genie could think to say as they made their way over towards the motley looking crew. Right about now royal wasn’t exactly what came to mind when looking at everyone before them. They looked more like a militia crew straight from Hel’s domain. A pale faced vampire with platinum hair on one side, jet black on the other, one of the decaying ones, which Deelah could tell only by her sensitive sense of smell, stood with his legs at a fighters’ stance by the fireplace in a pair of shit kicker boots, jeans that hugged his ass just right and a black tee, arms crossed over his chest giving off a menacing presence. A handsome yet meek looking male witch stood next to him, curly brown hair shaping a deadly beautiful olive toned face that was chiseled to perfection, giving off a calm that they knew to be fake seeing as how Genie had just seen him in all his demon glory. On the long half circular couch they used to sit and gossip on with their lost best friend sat two identical but completely different looking women. Both exotically beautiful, seeming to be both mirror images but exact opposites at the same time. One with shocking white hair, the other a blazing red that would put any fire to shame, one’s skin the color of the most succulent caramel, the other a chalkier shade of that same caramel, but just as fine. Genie and Deelah both instinctively looked away from their eyes. One had a hulk of a woman at her side, one that was utterly beautiful for all her masculinity. Even though her muscles had muscles she still gave off an air of grace, and also a dark presence that dared them to mess with the woman beside her. In front of the other sat an enormous chocolate wolf, that quickly shifted into an equally enormous dark chocolate male that had the two girls’ almost salivating at the sight of his shirtless body. Only piece of clothing he bothered to flash into was a pair of ragged sweatpants that left nothing to the imagination, his dreads hanging loosely behind his back. This group looked like it was ready to kill, not rule.

“Tell me every damn thing you can think of that happened last night. I want my daughter back, and I want to peel back the skin of whoever took her and flay them alive.” She threw her head back and laughed at the frightened look on their faces. “And I’m the nice one. No telling what the rest will do.” As if to drive the point home, Grimm growled a full on wolf growl from his humanoid throat.

Teasers:

moorman-teaser4

t1

 

About The Author:

T.A. Moorman

Born in Detroit

When you become a Mom, you begin to put yourself last, and your combat boots begin to collect dust. Going to your child’s PTA meetings in full Gothic, especially industrial, regalia is pretty much frowned upon. Especially by your own children, and your teens would die of a heart attack. But, one should not have to completely stop being themselves, uniqueness is greatness. So all of that darkness is put into words in her books, and designs in her jewelry sold in her Etsy shop, GothicMoms DarkCharms.

A mother of five beautiful children, but by far more than just that. T. A. Moorman is an artist, a violinist, a seamstress, a crafter, a writer, a blogger, a reviewer, a dark confidant and a darkly dangerous, fiercely protective friend.

